Former world No.3 Wendy Turnbull inducted into the Australian Tennis Hall of Fame in 2009.

(above) Wendy Turnbull and Geoff Pollard AM: President, Tennis Australia at the induction of Wendy into the Australian Tennis Hall of Fame on Australia Day 2009

In a special ceremony at Rod Laver Arena on Australia Day the bronze statue was unveiled. It will later be installed in Garden Square at Melbourne Park alongside other greats of Australian tennis.

The Brisbane-born Turnbull turned pro in 1975 and was quickly nicknamed “Rabbit’’ by her peers, such was her foot speed around the court.

In an illustrious career she made the final of every Grand Slam except Wimbledon. She was runner-up to Chris Evert at the US Open (1977) and French Open (1979) and to Hana Mandlikova at the 1980 Australian Open. Her best effort at Wimbledon was the quarterfinals in 1979, 1980 and 1981.

Turnbull’s consistency on the tour was exceptional, achieving a top 10 year-end world ranking for eight consecutive years (1977–1984) and a year-end top 20 ranking for 10 straight years (1977–1986).

She achieved her highest singles ranking in January 1985.

In doubles she paired with Kerrie Reid to win the 1978 Wimbledon crown, with Betty Stove to win the 1979 US and French titles, and with Rosemary Casals to win the 1982 US Open. She also made another 11 major doubles finals, won five mixed doubles titles and teamed with Liz Smylie to win the bronze medal at the 1988 Seoul Olympics. Overall, Turnbull won 13 singles (478-250 career record) and 55 doubles titles (653-225) earning more than $2.7 million in career prize money before retiring in 1989.

Her record representing her country in Fed Cup for 12 years from 1977 was an impressive 46-16 (17-8 singles, 29-8 doubles) and she was captain or coach of the team from 1985 to 1993.

Previous Australian Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • 2008: Pat Rafter
  • 2007: Mark Edmondson
  • 2006: Daphne Akhurst
  • 2005: Australian Open Centenary
  • 2004: Brian Tobin
  • 2003: Pat Cash
  • 2002: Mervyn Rose, Thelma (Coyne) Long
  • 2001: Mal Anderson, Nancye (Wynne) Bolton
  • 2000: Ken McGregor
  • 1999: Australia inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame
  • 1998: John Newcombe, Tony Roche, Lesley (Turner) Bowrey, Adrian Quist
  • 1997: Fred Stolle, Jack Crawford, Gerald Patterson
  • 1996: Frank Sedgman, John Bromwich, Sir Norman Brookes, Ashley Cooper, Harry Hopman
  • 1995: Lew Hoad, Ken Rosewall
  • 1994: Roy Emerson, Evonne Goolagong Cawley, Neale Fraser
  • 1993: Rod Laver, Margaret Smith (Court)

Original Article by